St Luke's Parish Hall
Historic and heritage listed, St Luke’s Hall is over 100 years old. It has been the venue for countless parties, celebrations, meetings, markets, rehearsals and gatherings of almost every imaginable type.
The hall needs some maintenance and TLC to enable its continued use. We are doing what we can, seeking support from the community and pursuing grants where possible. We want to see this community hall in use for many years to come.
Stained Glass and Virtual tour
Our Unique History
The first Anglican clergyman to travel to the Darling Downs after the area of Moreton Bay was opened to free settlement was the Reverend John Gregor. He visited station properties on several occasions, before his untimely death by drowning.
Gregor was succeeded by the Reverend Benjamin Glennie. He had come from England with Bishop Tyrrell to the newly created Diocese of Newcastle. Glennie conducted the first service at Drayton in 1848 and returned as resident Priest in 1850, remaining there until 1860 when he became Rector of Warwick until 1872.
The 20th Century To Today
St Luke’s remained incomplete until 1945 when, under the leadership of Canon Shand, the congregation perceived the vision of a completed church as a War Memorial. The completion of the building proved a huge undertaking and it was not until 1959 that the extensions were dedicated. The south transept still remains to be built.
As the city of Toowoomba has grown, so has the parish and St Luke’s is now the mother church of a large area, with daughter churches at All Saints’ in Arthur Street and St Mark’s at Rangeville. The congregation of St Bartholomew’s at Middle Ridge, once part of the St Luke’s parish, has grown so rapidly that it is now a separate Parochial District.